Walton-Campbell-personal-768x432In June, 2018, The Genius Plague was awarded the John W. Campbell Award for best novel!  I was given the award at the Campbell Conference in Lawrence, Kansas.   The list of authors and books who have won this award is long and awe-inspiring, and for my name to be permanently etched among them is an honor beyond words.

philip-k-dick-awardIn April, 2009, Terminal Mind was awarded the Philip K. Dick Award for the best paperback original science fiction novel printed in the United States in 2008.  I was given the award at Norwescon in Seattle in a ceremony presided over by Gordon Van Gelder, the award administrator, as well as members of the Northwest Science Fiction Society.  The award was given as a tie with Emissaries from the Dead, by Adam-Troy Castro.


In May, 2008, my short story “Letting Go” was awarded the Jim Baen Memorial Grand Prize, given by a collaboration of the National Space Society and Baen Books for the story best depicted the exciting future of near-term space development. I was given the award at the International Space Development Conference in Washington D.C., attended by a veritable who’s-who of the space industry, including astronaut Buzz Aldrin, astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson, SpaceShipOne designer Burt Rutan, and space policymakers from NASA, the Air Force, and the private sector. The story was published in Baen Books’ science fiction magazine, Baen’s Universe, and later reprinted in the Australian science fact magazine, Cosmos.

In 2004, my story “All The Rage This Year” won the third Phobos writing contest, judged by a panel of authors and media professionals including Orson Scott Card. It appeared as the title story in the Phobos Anthology, All The Rage This Year. It was my first professionally published work.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s